Fall Evergold 10 miler post-race report

Fall Evergold 10 miler post-race report

Due to the recent flooding, this years Fall Evergold Trail Race was moved from Lair O’ Bear in Idledale to Alderfer/3 Sister Park in Evergreen.

It was a chilly morning, and as you can see there was still a light dusting of snow on the ground from a recent storm. The race went off at 9am, and featured a stunningly beautiful 2-loop course through the parks trail system.

I went out hard but still with a pace I knew was gonna be manageable. There were a handful of quick descents, but make no mistake, there were also some pretty tough climbs that definitely made my legs burn. My favorite parts of the course were the flat single trail sections, which I was able to rip at a high pace.

It was a battle at the front end, with the handful of us duking it out for position. I actually felt better on the second loop as I was fully warm and settled into my pace. I tried to really turn it on for second loop but some of those climbs are pretty unforgiving, which in turn had me doing some brief speed hiking.

The race comes to a clearing on the final section where you can see the finish line. I crossed my fingers on the last icy section, and crossed the finish line at 1:31. 4th overall.

The moment quickly faded into anti-climactic bliss as I grew a little sad that this was the last race in the series. What a summer it’s been. I really enjoy the trail races hosted by Evergreen – they’re simple and minimalist in style. Sometimes it’s nice to run a race without the grand production and flash of a bigger one. With Evergreen, it’s just a bunch of people getting together who love to run and test themselves against nature, and that’s more than fine with me.

Big thanks to Kendra and the Evergreen Parks & Rec. Can’t wait for next season to come around and hit these beautiful mountains again.

6 thoughts on “Fall Evergold 10 miler post-race report

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  2. You share interesting things here. I think that your page can go viral easily, but you must give
    it initial boost and i know how to do it, just type in google for –
    mundillo traffic increase go viral

Leave a Reply

