Mount Werner Classic 50K Ultra

Mount Werner Classic 50K Ultra

This years Mount Werner Classic 50K Ultra was amazing! When I read about this course, I kept hearing over and over how beautiful it really is. Well, I can’t argue that, but don’t let the beautiful scenery fool you into thinking this is gonna be a walk-in-the-park. The race is difficult and technical, not to mention that more than half of it is run at 10,000 feet above sea level.

I fared well considering my IT band gave me some issues during the first 10-12 miles or so, but was able to settle in once I got my brace adjusted a few times. Nice save Pro-tec! The scenery really was amazing – passing through lush aspen forests, open alpine tundra, and everything in-between. I was really able to pick it up on the second half of the race, even passing a few people that smoked me during the first half. Though the last 5 or so miles of rolling descent felt never-ending. I came in at about 19 seconds over 7 hours, not bad considering my IT band flare up but very frustrating nonetheless. The winning time was 4:47. On a good day I feel like I could probably make this race in about 6 hours, maybe a little over. Guess that just gives me a goal for next year!

A big thanks to Emily Conjura, Steamboat Running Series, and the town of Steamboat Springs for such a great event. I’ll definitely be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

